Grandma’s quilt

Grandma's quilt

I just love old quilts, don’t you? There’s just something about them that warms you from the inside out. To me, there is nothing as warm as an old hand made quilt.

This is a closeup of one that belonged to one of my grandmothers. These were made before we had rotary cutters, die cutters & the wonderful fabrics we now have. Can you imagine cutting each piece for a quilt like this, using scissors & a pencil?

Buying fabric for the sole purpose of making a pretty quilt wasn’t an option for many. The fabric was either made from clothing remnants or flour sacks. Things have changed so much, & each era has its advantages & disadvantages. I just wish the fabrics & quilts could tell their stories.

Do you have a favorite quilt? I would love to hear about it.

One thought on “Grandma’s quilt

  1. Hello, I have been slow at catching up. Love this post! I have a quilt that my Aunt left for me after she died. She did not have very many possesions in life….so I felt so grateful when my uncle read a letter to all of us that she had written “in case she should die”…….and there she stated “the new quilt I just finished and is stored in the closet is to go to Kathleen. Still brings tears to my eyes…….sigh. Have a great week ahead! blessings,Kathy

Leave a Reply

