Family history

Family history

Mom & I are working on our family history. We have a lot of neat photos & artifacts from our history. I’ve scanned over 2000 photos & am trying to compile everything so it’s easily organized, & some of it displayed on the wall. I have so much work left to do before any of it is presentable, or even remotely organized. It’s a bit overwhelming, but maybe some day, I will have it organized enough to put into a book or 2 or 3.

There were a lot of military people in my lineage. This is a photo of my Grandfather’s certificate from when he was awarded a Purple Heart.

I have a lot of stories to put on paper before they are lost to memory. I’m already seeing a problem with remembering details of some stories. Mom recorded some onto cassette tapes, but she recorded a lot of stuff & I need to go through the tapes & see what is actually geneaology related & transcribe the conversations. I wish I had a way to preserve some of the sounds, like voices of the people who have shared their stories.

I have so many things I want to do, but a lifetime isn’t long enough to get it all done. I’m hoping to have a family reunion next summer, but need to get photos & history organized better so we can get identification of some photos that aren’t labeled. I also want to be able to make a family heritage quilt. I think that would be so neat to have at the reunion. Another thing I’d like to do is build a huge family tree printout. I’d lay it out at the reunion so everyone could help fill in the blanks. Maybe, after I get info next year, I can make a presentation one to give as awards for future events.

I haven’t been to a family reunion since I was old enough to remember it. That is, unless you call a funeral a reunion. Our lives get so busy that we tend to lose track of time & only get together for funerals. With that in mind, I would love to hear your ideas for what to have & do for a family reunion. Do you play games? What kind of games? Do you make a weekend of it, or just an all day Saturday? Do you have any tips or ideas to share for organizing family photos in digital format, or on paper?

Leave a Reply

